Huntingdon Mustang junior Hunter Ensley was named the MVP by the Huntingdon QB Club Thursday night at the HHS Football Banquet as the 2018 Huntingdon Mustang football team was honored at the Huntingdon Church of Christ.

Ensley had one of the better seasons in school history as he rushed for 1,407 yards on 132 carries and scored 29 touchdowns and passed for over 700 yards and nine touchdowns. Ensley was also named the Region 6-1A MVP and the back of the year by the coaches.

Joseph Richardson, a senior lineman, was named the 2018 Captain as voted on by his teammates and was also named lineman of the year and to the Region 6-1A team. Austin Avery, a senior linebacker, was named Co-Captain for the 2018 season and was named as the Best Linebacker. He was also named to the Region 6-1A team.

Receiving special team awards were Cole Edwards a junior kicker who made 92% of his extra points and had 30 touchbacks out of his 100 kickoffs. Edwards was also 2-2 for field goals and kicked one for 46 yards. Also receiving special team award was Kody Byrd a senior who snapped for extra points and field goals.

Defensive awards went to Bo McLemore a junior for Most Improved; Best Linebacker Award, Austin Avery; Best Lineman Award, Joseph Richardson; and Best Defensive Back Award, Konnor Pearson.

Receiving Offensive Awards were Austin Baker for Most Improved, Lineman Chris Chaney for Best Offensive Back, Hunter Ensley, Paul Ward Sr. Hustler Award Dallas Willis and Best Weight Lifter Chris Chaney.

Several Huntingdon players received Region 6-1A honors. Named to the All-Region 6-1A team as honorable mention were Austin Baker, Drake Butler, Reed Jones, and Kelby Pearson. Named to the All-Region team were Joseph Richardson, Bo McLemore, Matthew Ellis, Austin Avery, Chris Chaney, Brett Huss, and Konnor Pearson.

Cole Edwards was named Special Teams Player of the Year for Region 6-1A, Dallas Willis was named Defensive Back of the Year, and Hunter Ensley was named Player of the Year.

The 2108 Mustangs players from the freshman class through the senior class also received player certificates for player participation for the season and will receive a letter for their H jacket.

Julia Boyd the cheerleader sponsor also recognized the 2018 cheerleaders for their hard work and helping make the season a success. The senior cheerleaders were; Kaitlyn Batey, Maggie Guess, Corbin Sullivan and Kaitlyn Williams.

The 2018 senior football players were recognized and received a plague and their jersey. The 2018 senior players include Dallas Willis, Paxton Weir, Kelby Pearson, Dejuan Smith, Matthew Ellis, Austin Avery, Kody Byrd, Joseph Richardson, Chris Chaney, Damion Byrd, and Dorian Williams.

Also honored were managers Jordan Davis, Knoa Thompson, Diamond King, Anna Ruth White, Taylor Mosteller, and Cameron Mast. Ballboys Easton Butler, Grey Eubanks and Caleb Ezell were also recognized.

The 2018 coaches for the Mustangs were head coach Eric Swenson and assistant coaches Robbie Miller, Rick Wallace, Jay Lowery, Nathan Wallace, and Jake Warbritton.

The 2018 Huntingdon Mustangs finished the season with a 12-1 record making it the second year in a row with that record. The Mustangs, for the second year, finished with an undefeated regular season record making it only the third time in school history for that feat. The Mustangs were the Region 6-1A champs for the second year in a row and advanced to the third round of the TSSAA playoffs.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.